top of page

Feeling Artsy?

If you're interested in art, but unsure of where to begin when it comes to getting supplies, don't worry. There are a few basics that you can start with that will allow you to explore different mediums and techniques.


  • A sketchbook is a great place to start, as it allows you to practice drawing and jot down ideas.

  • Pencils come in a variety of hardness levels, and a set of graphite pencils with varying hardness (ranging from soft to hard) will allow you to create different types of lines and shading.

  • For color, consider getting a set of colored pencils or watercolor paints. Both can be used in a variety of ways and are easy to work with.

  • Additionally, a good eraser, ruler, and sharpener are crucial for any artist.



Don't be intimidated by the vast array of art supplies available - start with the basics and go from there as you discover what mediums and techniques you enjoy the most.


In this article, I am sharing the supplies I have started out with and have purchased in the past, that I've been very pleased with.


Sketchbook Beginner Kit


I started with an art kit, so I could have a one stop shop of all of what I needed to get started. This helped me to figure out what I liked and did not like, and thus what I needed more of.


I have found some items that of interest to me, and thought I'd share it here with you. I also have them listed in my Artsy Bits pin on my Pinterest page. I found this art kit on Amazon and added it to my own cart, as it is highly rated, and has a perfect amount of items I need to get started. Now this is great for watercolor painting and drawing. As I have a lot of paint already, this is great as I need additional items.


  • Cost: $23.99

  • Brand: Prina

  • Description: Prina 76 Pack Drawing Set Sketching Kit, Pro Art Sketch Supplies with 3-Color Sketchbook, Include Tutorial, Colored, Graphite, Charcoal, Watercolor & Metallic Pencil, for Artists

  • Link: https://amzn.to/3MOVgL4


Alcohol Markers


Now, let's talk about something a little different, Alcohol Markers. This is a step beyond and outside of the brush and everyday marker. We have tried various types of markers and found that the Ohuhu brand is excellent. The colors are vibrant and easy to use.


Ohuhu offer double tip alcohol markers. I love the satisfaction of creating a piece without a brush, and have the stability in using a pen, which I feel offers a great deal more control in my artwork. Using these markers allows you to work with watercolor type art in a pen. This marker set by Ohuhu is a beginner set that have the best of the basic 24 colors. It also includes a colorless blender.



  • Cost: $19.98

  • Brand: Ohuhu

  • Description: Alcohol Markers Brush Tip - Double Tipped Alcohol Based Markers for Beginners Artist Sketching Adult Coloring Illustration - Brush Chisel Dual Tips - 24 Basic Colors of Ohuhu Markers Honolulu

  • Link: https://amzn.to/3NhRBXu


Drawing Pens


An excellent alternative to the alcohol markers, if you want to start smaller, is a set of drawing pens. I absolutely love the drawing pens. With this set you can draw thin to thick lines. I like to create my pieces with the variety between thick and thin for variation and adding additional lines.


TwoHands has a great set of 12 pens for purchase that are very adaptable. You can use them for everyday writing, calligraphy, as well as drawing and other artwork. I like to create art using the drawing pens, take a picture of it to transition the piece into graphic art. The black pens make for great contrast.



  • Price: $9.99

  • Brand: Two Hands

  • Description: Set of 12 Micro Pens, Art Pens, Fineliner Ink Pens, Technical Drawing pen, Pigment Pen, Fine Point, Black, Waterproof, for Art Watercolor, Sketching, Anime, Manga, Scrapbooking

  • Link: https://amzn.to/43MUPYx


Drawing Gloves


One additional purchase we made, which was great for drawing on paper or a tablet, is a set of drawing gloves. The gloves helps to reduce smudges on paper or accidental commands when using a tablet. When using a tablet, the palm protection helps significantly so you can maintain your drawing position for better control, and decreases the amount of times you have to select "undo." There are multiple sizes you can choose from so you can find the glove the best fits the size of your hands.


OTraki has a great set of gloves to choose from. They can be used for a variety of art mediums. I use mine the most when drawing on my tablet. OTraki states that the best way for a tablet not to pick up on your palm when drawing on a tablet is to keep your palm off of the tablet. The lycra material on the ring and pinky fingers glide easily on the screen without creating any actions.

  • Price: $5.99

  • Brand: OTraki

  • Description: 4 Pack Artist Gloves for Drawing Tablet Free Size Artist's Drawing Glove with Two Fingers for Graphics Pad Painting Good for Right Hand or Left Hand - 2.95 x 7.87 inch

  • Link: https://amzn.to/3oROg8d


Ruler


Now in addition to these beginner supplies, I also have a metal ruler that I use. I have tried other rulers, and I have found the stainless steel ruler to be the best. The metal ruler allows me to tear, cut, and draw on a straight line and not damage the ruler. It is also much easier to clean and the line remains straight. OfficeMate offers a good traditional metal ruler.




I would love to hear if there are any products that you use that you absolutely love to get started with. If you have never purchased any art supplies before, the supplies above are a great starting place. Find what you feel good with based on the type of art that you want to do. f


The items above are primarily focused on drawing and painting. There are many other types of art products that I will be sharing in other blog articles.


Have fun being artsy!

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page